Introduction/ Choosing medical schools to apply to

I will be applying to medical school this summer and am curious how others are choosing which schools to apply to.

Since this is my first post it is perhaps helpful if I provide some background information. To make a long story short- I was a horribly inconsistent student when younger. I did very well some semesters and horrible at other times (I have a number of F’s on my transcript). I changed majors many times, dropped out of school several times- basically I created maximum academic carnage. At 24 I joined the Air Force although I was only six credits from getting my degree. The Air Force was exactly what I needed. I gained direction and spent six enjoyable years as an X-ray technologist. While in the Air Force I discovered my interest in medicine. Unfortunately I am burdened with my previous academic indiscretions. Following my separation from the Air Force in January 2005, I enrolled in a small public university in Texas. While there I completed my long delayed degree in biology. In the process of completing my degree I completed approximately 50 semester hours of biology and chemistry courses earning all ‘A’s except for one class in which I got a ‘B’. I took the MCAT last April. Currently I am working toward my MSPH in parasitolgy at Tulane and will complete this degree in May 2008.

My stats are:

GPA- 3.25

Science GPA- 3.25

MCAT-32R (13V, 10B, 9P)

I am retaking the MCAT this May. I have been told by several Texas schools that they would like to see at least a 35 given my low GPA. Since the first MCAT was taken without any preparation I am confident I can increase my score with the necessary preparation. I know a 32 is a decent score but I do not like that 9 in the physical science section.