Introduction of myself and question about my plan

Hi everyone,

I’m currently two years out of graduating from a top 20 university with a degree in mathematics and economics. I wasn’t premed in college and wasn’t really interested in it until recently.

I graduated summa cum laude w/ a 3.9+ GPA (suffice to say, I studied a lot), and took some science courses while I was an engineering major for a year and a half (took 1 semester of physics, 1 year of general chemistry, a whole lot of math, a year of english/writing) and got A’s in them.

I’m thinking about learning more about going into medicine. I’ve worked in investment banking for a year (specifically, mergers and acquisitions, but hated it) and in economic research for a year. I’ll be going into a PhD program next year. However, my experience in economic research has led me to question whether it’s really for me; while I find economics interesting, I often question whether I’m really making any difference in the world. I like science, I’m interested in health issues, and I like interacting with people.

What can I do in the short-term to learn more about medicine? Can I find shadowing opportunities while I’m doing my PHD?

Given that I am now two years out of college, should I look into official post-bacc programs or just try to take organic chemistry, biology, and possibly biochemistry?

I’m pretty good at taking tests, so I’m hoping that I can do well in the MCAT. Will my PhD grades matter (PhD courses are often graded fairly weirdly, since grades don’t actually matter for the purposes of the PhD.)? Will my undergrad GPA still help me if I apply?

I have economic research experience, but no medical or bio lab experience and mediocre extracurricular experience. Will I probably need some lab experience before I apply?

My plan would most likely be taking additional science courses during the next two years (while doing the PhD), doing the MCAT in early 2012 and applying that summer.