Introduction (trying to stay encouraged)- Apply SMP or attend accepted school (Master of Science in Biology)

Hello everyone,

I’m excited to be apart of a great community like this. I listen to all of Dr. Ryan Gray’s podcast faithfully and I’m enjoying every bit of it! I’m really excited to be here.

A little bit about me: I am a 25 years old college graduate. I got my degree in biology in 2014. I want to go to medical school, but being discouraged most of the times held me back. I’ve been doing things here and there to stay encourage by working in the healthcare field, volunteering, and taking classes at a community college, but OPM podcast, like almost everyone here I’m sure, gives me that extra push. I look forward to this forum doing the same.

Quick question- If anyone could help me (in their option) if an SMP is better than getting a master’s degree in biology at any other school like a private institution?

P.S.- If Dr. Gray mentioned this in one of his podcast, can someone please share?

In 2016, I got accepted into a university that’s allowing me to receive a master’s in biology. This is an opportunity for me to go back to school and receive my master’s that can potentially help me into medical, but I want to make the right decision. Their curriculum at this university reflects what medical students will be taking in their first and second year of medical school (gross anatomy, biochem, biostatistic,etc) so that’s a plus. On the flip side, I’m not sure if I should just take my time and look into some special master’s programs. I’m kinda caught in a dilemma.

Classes start in August…