Introduction

Howdy all! My name is Jim and I am 41 years old. I am married with a twelve year old boy and six year old girl. We live in a small town in SW MO.

I have just graduated from a small community college with AA degrees in History and General Studies. I am now a pre-med student attending Missouri State University.

My major is Cell and Molecular Biology. MSU has an awesome program and has a ton of courses which will both satisfy my degree and make the first two years of medical school a little less stressfull.

As of today, my end goal is to be a trauma surgeon, but we’ll see. Due to my age, this might be unrealistic since I’d have to do five years as a general surgery resident and then two more years as a trauma surgeon resident/fellow.

I don’t know how much time I will have to post, but I’m glad I found ya’ll and look forward to participating with and learning from those here.

Jim

Hi - My name is Neil and I am from Phoenix. I just found this site and forum yesterday. From what I have seen so far in terms of the depth, breadth and generosity of those on the forums, I am impressed and encouraged.

I am 37, married with a 6 year old boy and a just 3 year old girl.

My professional background has been Software Engineering for the past 7 years since graduating with a BS in CompSci. So I am now trying to learn what are the science gaps I have to make up (I know there is Biology and “O Chem”) before even thinking about applying to the medical schools. I think I am solid in the math (up to Calc 3) and with two semesters of University Physics. I know that I need to speak with an advisor to get all the details.

The next big worry I have is to really make this happen, with family, financial and probable re-location to consider. I read Richards non-trad “rules” on another thread, which was a big inspiration.