Is anyone out there doing it totally alone?

Hi, everyone. I suppose I should give a short introduction, seeing as how this is my first post here.
I’m a 27-year-old guy who’s thinking about looking into medicine as a career. I’m constantly wondering whether I’m crazy for doing so. I currently work in information technology for a pharmaceutical company, and it is most assuredly not what I want to do with my life. When considering medicine, however, I really don’t know if I have what it takes. I’ve always been pretty lazy and lethargic. I’ve gone through life until very recently wishing I were independently wealthy and could sit around doing nothing, and trying to avoid work as much as possible. I majored in music in college simply because I didn’t know what else to do, and I always assumed, wrongly, that one could always go to grad school after college and take up an easy life as a professor. When I found out that wasn’t true, I turned to computers, because all of the media hype about the job market during the dot-com boom convinced me that programmers both made a ton of money and were treated like royalty because of the intense demand, which meant (and I completely fabricated this idea by myself) that the work would be very laid-back and stress-free. If I couldn’t be independently wealthy, this seemed like a close second: get the house in the suburbs and the BMW, dump my copious excess income into investments, and retire at 45, without ever having had to do much of anything. Needless to say, that isn’t working out–the pay is decent, but not what I had expected, and as for my work life, it’s straight out of Dilbert, minus the curly tie.