Is consistency key?

Good Afternoon,

I would first like to apologize for the lengthy background that I am about to subject you to, but I feel it is important in understanding my nontraditional path.

I graduated from the University of Florida in 2010 with a 3.0 GPA and sGPA of 2.67. I commissioned as an Officer in the Navy and spent 6.5 years on active duty. Becoming a physician was my goal during undergrad, but I fell extremely short of living up to the standards of a premed student. During my time in the Navy, I got married and my wife was a huge proponent of me following my dreams. I knew that in order to pursue matriculation into medical school I needed to get my GPA up, so I started taking some online classes at a local state college (all science based classes) to see if I still had the academic ability and ended up doing well. This boosted my confidence and I decided to resign my commission and pursue admittance into medical school full time. I was accepted into the University of South Florida where I recently received a second BS in Cell and Molecular Biology. Since the completion of my first BS at UF, I have completed 51 additional credit hours (all science based), received a 4.0 in all classes and have increased both my GPA and sGPA to a 3.22.

My extracurriculars are as follows:
Active Duty Naval Officer: Aug 2010-Oct2016
Navy Reserve Officer: Oct 2016-Present
Physician Shadowing: Roughly 100 hours in 2009
Clinical Volunteering: 298 hours Jun-Oct 2016
Substitute Teacher in a rural county in Florida: Nov 2016-Present
Take Stock in Children Mentor in a rural Florida county: May 2017-Present
Research Lab Assistant: May 2017-Present