Is it feasible or foolish to attempt med school after law school?

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to this forum, and this looks like a really valuable service you’re offering people. Thx.

Between my acceptance to law school and actually starting classes, I went into the hospital and according to the nurses, I almost didn’t come out. When I did, I found myself wishing I’d at least attempted to become a doctor. It wasn’t a gradual thing, at all; I can almost pinpoint the date.

I’d never considered it before for various reasons. It’s now almost 2 years later, I’m half-way through law school, and I haven’t been able to shake the desire. I have no hard-science background (except “Bio for Poets”); by the time I graduate I’ll have invested 3 years (I’ll be 26)

and considerable tuition into a terminal degree; finally, my wife will be able to leave a job she hates because we’ll have a second income. It seems like a bad time to switch horses in midstream.

So…I’ve seen people pursue pre-med classes at night, but I’ve never heard of a night program for pre-rotation/pre-residenc y medical school. If I chose to pursue this futher, I’ll have some skeptical family members to deal with.

I’d be interested to hear thoughts from those of you who have been in a similar situation about the wisdom of going for another 7 years of school when you’ve already invested time and money into a relatively solid professional career. Also, is there a point in time when it’s just too late to practice medicine at all? That is, if I went back considerably later in my life, I’d probably be happy doing non-profit, or even volunteer, work, but I don’t know if they’d hire me.

I guess the basic question is the same as the other topic that asked, “Should I bother?” Thanks very much for your feedback.