Is this just a pipe dream?

I have been an occupational therapist for 3 years (4 years of undergrad and 3 years of grad school under my belt, as well). I always thought that I’d eventually go back to med school…I love medicine so much. In fact, I can’t wait to be a physician. What’s holding me back? Well, I still need to take most of my pre-reqs, take the MCAT, and complete medical school. Also, I’m paying down 45 grand of student loan debt, credit card debt from grad school, and a car payment. My most conservative calculation would be that I’d end up with about 250 K in student loan debt by the end of it all. I have my eye on general peds, so that puts me at about 120-160 a year. Doing the math tells me that I will not be able to afford rent and groceries during residency and for the about the first 30 years of my practice…at which time I would be about 70 years old. There’s GOT to be a way to do this (for instance, if the lending corporations implode). Am I overreacting? I need some advice/thoughts/etc. Thanks a million!

Quote: