Is this realistic?

Hello, OPMs. I have been reading the posts, and I have to say that they have been quite informative and give me quite a bit of hope.

The title of this thread, “Is this realistic?” really pertains to my decision of going to med school. This is my story, and I am going to try to make it as short as possible.

I graduated with a BS in Biology in 1998 in the Philippines. Back then I was dependent of my parents and they weren’t very supportive of me (financially) to go into med school here in the US. I decided to go into nursing school. The plan was that I would finish an associate’s degree, work, and then try to go into med school. Unfortunately, I realized that nursing was not for me. I then decided to get my associate’s in medical technology. I thought maybe getting a med tech degree would also help me learn a little bit of the diagnostic side of medicine, and still had a chance to go into med school. Yet I was still determined to finish my associate’s since I was eager to have a job and get some clinical experience. I graduated, passed the ASCP certification test, and got a job.

When I began working as a lab tech, I was diagnosed with Grave’s Disease. It was indeed a tough period for me. By this time, I was in my mid-twenties, and all my hope of getting into med school went down the drain. Later, I received ablative treatment to slow my thyroid down. I have been taking synthroid ever since.

Life went on as usual, and I continued to work. After three years of working in the lab, I realized that I was not happy with my job. I love the sciences and learning about the human body, but in my job since we are isolated from everyone else. I felt underappreciated and didn’t get enough respect. I also missed the patient contact (I was a nursing assistant before also).