is this so hard for anybody else?

Hi eyerybody. I just joined this site, and I’d like introduce myself. I am 28, happily married for 5 years, and mother to a very active 2 year-old. I’ve always enjoyed and excelled in school (well, since college anyway), and I definitely want to do more. I majored in psychology as an undergrad, and got a masters in counseling and a Ph.D. in developmental psych in the following four years. Then I had a baby who had some health problems (mostly resolved now), moved cross country, opted out of the hunt for a tenure-track position (want to work clinically and grant writing = yuck), and have done some teaching and work for the state government (it’s even worse than people say). I left my job at the end of the summer and started a post-bac program. It’s going well, but I can’t decide what I should do.

I know that I would be most fulfilled as an MD/DO, I’m fairly confident that I could get in, my husband is encouraging me, and I would not even have to take out large loans. I’m just so nervous that my being so busy will be detrimental for my child and my marriage.

People I know who are somewhere in the MD training process generally say it isn’t worth it, but doctors who have been practicing for a while all say go for it. I’ve read posts on other sites saying both “go in with your eyes open” and “if you have any doubts that this is what you should do, you shouldn’t do it.” Can both things be true? When I focus on the real sacrifices involved, I feel lots of doubt and guilt, but I just can’t get myself to be consistently enthusiastic about taking a different path. Have any of you had similar feelings, and what finally gave you the courage to go for it or the willingness to let it go?