Jr College Pre-reqs but MS Biology to follow...

I already understand that taking pre-reqs at a Jr College can be frowned upon(depending on who you ask), but I wouldn’t think finishing out a few pre-reqs, i.e. Inorganic II and Organic Chem I and II, at a Jr College(due to availability and close proximity) and then getting my MS Biology-which includes upper level molecular cell and biochem amongst others-would be all that big a deal. If I do an outstanding job with the MS then it shouldn’t matter where I take the pre-reqs as long as I do well in them. Any ideas/opinions?

southpaw-

I am no expert, but I do agree with your ideas as I am signed up to begin taking Chemistry I and II over the summer at a local Community College that happens to offer the evening courses. I am doing it because of the price and I have not found the 4 yr univ. to be accomodating to non-traditional schedules. They are turning into making their class schedules better for the day student rather than the working student. I just picked up a great book called “Getting into Medical School” by Sanford Brown M.D. He too was a non-trad and took his classes as a comm. college as well. said what mattered most was the grade on the transcript not the institution. let these guys on here beat this to death. so what. we gotta do what we gotta do. work and make good grades to get to where we gotta go. i’d say that will go a long way with the adcoms out there. stretching yourself to the limits to get to where you ultimately want to go. oh by the way. why go for the MS also if you take the pre-reqs already? sure I got an MBA first, but aren’t we going for the M.D. here. not the MS ? haha even though my home state is MS. =)

• Miller J. Said:
southpaw-