Just accepted

Hello Everyone

Just wanted to introduce myself because I was accepted to Georgetown University’s PBPM program two days ago. While I’m still waiting to hear from other schools (VCU, American, Brandeis), I’m pretty certain that I will ultimately attend Georgetown. Only problem is that it begins in two weeks! So, in the mean time I have to truly sit down and think about it, quit my job, find somewhere to live and all that fun stuff before I return to college.

Anyway, some background on me. I graduated from William and Mary with a degree in History in 2007 (just a year ago). Soon after graduating, I began to work in a Clinic in Arlington, Virginia, where my interest in Medicine peaked. I had always been interested in Medicine, but for some reason got distracted by college and my interest in world culture and history. During my Junior year, right before I went to study abroad in Belgium, I revisited the pre-med option and spoke with an advisor, who recommended I wait a few years and do a post-bacc program after getting my BA. Which is where I am now.

While I’m still a little nervous about what the future brings, I’m convinced that working somewhere within healthcare is what I ultimately want to do.

So, anyone have any experience with Georgetown’s program?

So… yes. Hi everyone!

First off, congrats on your acceptance into the post-bacc at Georgetown. You are definitely on your way!

I am doing an informal post-bacc route myself, wanting to expunge debt before I hit med school, I’m working part-time while taking classes full time. Fortunately, my job is somewhat flexible and very understand, making this process a little bit easier to handle. I just finished my first semester back with a 4.0 in Gen Chem I and Gen Physics I and just started a seven week course in Gen Bio I. With that said, good luck to you!