Just finished all the courses, have a question on grades

Hi guys,

sorry about this long post, I just finished all my post-bacc courses and had a question on grades and whether I need to retake this course? I am still not completely sure about doing medical school (crazy,) however long story short, I am an Engineer graduated with a dual major in Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2003, however wasn’t happy with my company last year and decided to take a stab at applying for medical schools.

My undergrad gpa wasn’t great, about a 2.98 (my Engineering GPA was around a 3.3 - 3.4, however my General Chem, Physics, and Biolgoy course grades back in early undergrad year were dismal and really pulled my grades down, so I decided to retake them in the Post bacc program.)

I just finished taking all my post-bacc courses in little under the last 1.5 years. These were the courses I took last year with the following grades,

Bio I 4.0,

Physics I 4.0,

General Chemistry I with Lab 4.0,

General Chemistry II with Lab 4.0,

Bio II 3.8,

Biochemistry 4.0,

Organic Chemistry I 3.4

All this was while working full time Engineering, and I managed to still have an overall postbacc GPA of 3.886 after these 27 credits last year.

My problem is this semester I had Organic Chem II and Genetics, and I just finished the finals. My grades this semester are not so good as my work became EXTREMELY busy during the middle of the semester. I had to leave to go to Germany for 1.5 months right in the middle of the semester, and missed over a month of the organic chem II classes which really hurt my grades (however I still managed to do slightly above average.)

So this semester I am looking at a B+ (3.3-3.4 gpa) in my Genetics course, and am only doing average in my Organic Chem II with possibly a C+, or B- (hopefully a B- which would be a GPA of 2.7.)