Just getting started...

Hello Everyone.
Well, I’ve decided that I made the wrong decision when I was 18 and picking a major :-). For a plethora of reasons I won’t bore you with I’m very interested in considering becoming an MD. However, I was a business undergrad and had very little science (AP Bio in hs and a ZOO class and Physics class in college). So, my concern is getting the pre-reqs for Med school out of the way. The question I have for all of you is how bad is taking night/weekend classes at something like a community college? Will that hurt my chances of getting into a good school - or even be accepted? If at all possible, I would prefer to keep my job (i.e. paycheck) until I start Med School, so I really would prefer to not have to take a full time post bacc pre-med program. Do any of you have any suggestions or experiences you could share on being in a similar position?
Also, I live in San Francisco, so if any of you know of any good pre-med programs out here where I can get my basic science requirements out of the way, I would love to hear your thoughts.
Thanks in advance for your advice, and I’m very excited to see that this website exists.
regards,
-myway

Some 4-year universities do offer evening classes that you can take on a part-time basis, so be sure to look there first. Mine doesn’t, but fortunately I work on campus for a very accommodating director. I take one or two classes at a time and am poking along. Next year I’ll be ready to apply.
Don’t forget to start volunteering in a clinical setting (hospice, nursing home, free clinic, hospital) as soon as you can to make sure you want this and demonstrate your commitment–and to remind you why you’re putting yourself through this.
And welcome aboard!

Quote:

Hello Everyone.