just me here, and help always welcome

Hi. I’m 49 and retired these past ten years since trying to get into med school. I had 6 interviews and spent alot of dough before up ending broke and discouraged. Down right depressed. Gave up being altruistic for the most part, too, after getting screwed by the system. I became an infirm healer.

Their/our medical system is excessively profit based. If Doc.s made peanuts for pay, money grubber applicants would flee to other gold mines. There would be tons of room in med schools for the compassionate applicants like me.

As a volunteer doctor, I wanted to give away all services at an inner city free clinic, just as I did as an MFT. How many lives could I have been saving today? But it didn’t pan out for me.

So I decided raising my kids full time would be a better goal. Now, as they start graduating high school, I’m wondering if I have time to pursue my personal goals. I’m strong/centered enough to go back to work (for free). Maybe becoming a doctor isn’t impossible.

I looked good enough on paper, way-back-when. My community service was already done, very extensive, and not motivated by self interest -as in someone anticipating a bid for med school. It looked decent. MCAT was done as a half-a*sed lark & bought me a 31 score. I had never had a biology class and got a 10. I had no prerequisite science courses except general chem from twenty years earlier. Essentially no prerequesites at all.

Then I rushed through the application processes without forethought. I applied on the deadlines (last minute) with Express mailings. Dumb, dumb, dumb. Still, totally non-traditional and unprepared, they took notice and I was on many waiting lists for a slot.