Just not smart enough or quick enough for medical school

I am trying to decide whether or not to give up any attempt at medical school. I am nearing the end of a disastrous post-bacc, that has seen my science GPA fall to 3.1 or so. I’ve gotten mostly B’s, some A’s, but 6 C’s. To make matters worse, 3 of those C’s were in one class: Biochemistry II. I took it once, got a C; retook it with another professor, got another C; then took it again with another professor, and still got a C. In each case, no matter how much I studied, I could never finish the tests. This fact prompted me to seek out a learning skills counselor who determined after two weeks of extensive testing that I read at only 1/3 the rate of other students. When given enough time on their tests, I had 99% percentile, but when time is short or work load is high, I just didn’t finish and that percentile dropped precipitously.

In those few school classes in which I received A’s, much of the grade relied on term papers and other non-tests. The courses where the grade relied on tests solely or mostly were the ones where I fared the poorest.

I don’t know what to do about this, or if anything can be done.

I am wondering if it is even worth trying to improve my science GPA.

I am also worried about the MCAT. I’ve taken practice tests, and did below average when held to MCAT time lengths. But when I took extended time, I aced nearly every MCAT question. But the MCAT, like most other tests, does not just test what you know, what you can recall, it also tests how quickly you can think. Indeed, I also believe that I think slower than other students, too. When studying or doing mental tasks, time seems very fleeting, and I don’t get as much done as others.

When I was in undegrad, I did very well, received many A+'s, awards and accolades. But that was decades ago, and I was studying the humanities and social sciences, not hard core biology, chemistry, physics, genetics, etc.

My how things have changed . . .