Just starting the pre-med process...again.

Hello everyone,

I’m a first time poster, and after browsing this website as an anonymous person for a while, I know already people have been in the same boat as me.

A little background about myself, my cumulative GPA was a 3.1, and I took most of the pre-med reqs(didn’t do very well in those, my science GPA was like 2.87), but I mainly took the pre-med courses because my parents wanted me to go to med school,and I wanted to go into the technology industry because I was a computer science major. I graduated college back in 2005, and now I’m a software engineer. Long story short I wish I listened to my parents now heh.

I took all the pre-med classes 5 years ago (except physics 2), and I got pretty much all B’s and one A (organic chemistry). I got two C’s in Organic Chemistry 2 and physics 1.

I can explain my C’s easily…it was my last semester and I just didn’t care because I wanted to be into the tech industry; I know I can do better than that. I literally never showed up to classes even when there was a quiz…I’m somewhat surprised I got C’s actually considering how much I slacked off.

Anyway I’m wondering if for my post-bac if it makes sense to re-take the classes which I got B grades in (pretty much all Bio classes and General Chemistry). Personally I’d like to retake the B classes because I know my study habits were terrible back then, I was a last minute crammer. With better study habits I feel I can pull those B grades to A’s. I definitely don’t want to retake Organic Chem. 1 because I got an A already in it. I’d rather learn Org. Chem 1 on my own and just re-take Org Chem 2 to bring up the C. I’m scared to take upper level undergrad courses because I don’t remember the basics.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Currently I’m signed up to take a General Chem 1 class in the fall (I’ll be working full-time while taking courses), and I am excited to get started.

Hi Lucifer,