Just took the MCAT today

I studied for about 4 weeks with Exam Krackers material. Not sure if it really helped or not. I ran out of time with both the Physical Sciences and Biological Sciences section. I don’t feel very confident with my answers. Glad I took it just to see how bad it was–I was surprised to find that the content was not hideous, but doable. There just wasn’t enough time!!!

4 weeks is just not enough time, especially if you ran out of time. If you have to retake, spend more time with practice tests and timing and doing practice problems.

I didn’t run out of time, but I sure wish I did more practice problems.

While most recommendations around here differ from this approach, perhaps this is what’s best for you. Do you plan to take the MCAT again? If so, what’s your anticipated study plan?

Hey, I took the MCATs this past Friday as well. I walked away with an OK feeling but I am not sure if it was more of a feeling of being content with my performance or happy that the MCAT exam was over (because no matter how many practice exams you take, you always feel drained afterwards). Regarding your question about retaking it, I am seriously considering it but probably not August’s.

We get our scores back in Mid-July and I don’t think a month is really enough time to get prepared. I am going to take the time I have now to work on my primary application for medical school. When I am done with that, I probably will begin to review old notes to prepare to take the MCATs again.

When people say they studied for 4 weeks, it’s generally not rigorous studying, especially if they’re a non-trad and have families and jobs. The poster said they ran out of time, so they obviously need to spend time working on that, which can take up to a few practice tests to hone, and I would discourage someone from doing more than one practice test per day.