keeping up on other interests while in med school

I am an artist about to begin a postbacc premed program (my undergrad is in history and art) with the intention of possibly continuing on to med school. I have worked part time jobs up until now (in my 30s), but this summer when I faced the fact that I will always have to have a day job and a full time one at that, I thought about how I would want to spend that time. Following my heart over my head perhaps, I am excited about working towards the medical field, despite the fact that it is the most difficult route given my background and age.
Getting to the point–how little time will I have for working in my art studio? I know med school will be more than the 50 hours of some job I could pick up and more draining. I also see that the 10 year education schedule passes through those better child-bearing years for me. While I have really disliked taking jobs in which I have little interest just to save energy for my art practise, I worry if I take on this endeavor that I will have to abondon art all together. Any thoughts, experiences appreciated.

Hi Sully!
My answer is “I’ll let you know”. I’m about to start my first year of med school. (I’m 43, married, mother of two); I’m an academically trained artist (BFA, MFA) and have exhibited my work up until part way through my post-bacc. Until moving recently, I still had some of my metalwork in a gallery/shop, but hadn’t exhibited in juried exhibits in about two years.
I can tell you that I miss showing my work less than I thought I would. Also, creativity has a way of morphing into different areas of one’s life so I’m less concerned with fitting “my work” into a frame. We’ll still set up a darkroom and a workshop here, but it’ll be as much for my family as it is for me…we’ll see how much I really get to do with that work.