La Introduccion

Hello All!

I am Paresthesia, mid-20s, from the Midwest! I hold a Bachelor of Arts in a religious major (with a 3.5 gpa) and a Juris Doctor (with a 2.95 gpa on a forced curve). The move to the JD was a fairly quick one when I decided I simply couldn’t continue in religion (for personal reasons) and was a pretty shotgun decision. But, when I make a decision, I tend to stick with it, even to my detriment sometimes. This may be that case! As a general practitioner, I get to see people at their worst points in many legal areas and I can’t help but compare that to my limited exposure to physicians and the stories my mom (an RN) has shared about her experiences. When I do this, I continually wonder, more and more as of late, if I became the right kind of doctor. Of course, I’d never admit to an adcom that I was wrong in becoming an attorney or anything. In fact, I don’t regret it. I enjoy education and am glad to have had the law school experience and, if I were stuck in law for the rest of my life, I wouldn’t hate myself.

Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself. I’m a few years out from even considering applying. As of right now, I’m setting up an intro Chemistry course at a CC (because I got through HS and College without any Chem), and am trying to get my immunization records from the hospital back where I grew up so I can start doing some clinical volunteering. I’m also trying to figure out some good non-clinical volunteering (if I want to stay close to home, my options are pretty much soup kitchen, thrift store, or government).

So, I’m at the very beginning of it all and the way I see it, the worst that can happen is I get the science education that I missed out on in my previous studies (fun fact: science was my highest ACT score at 34 back in the day).

It’s great to be here and I look forward to the journey and making it with this awesome group!