Leaving the Military to get started!

Good Morning Everyone~

I am 29 years old and have spent 7 years in the Army. I graduated with a BA in Political Science (2003) with the intention of going to Law School. My years in the Army and a couple of wars have changed my perspective, and now I want to go to Medical School. I’ll finish the Army this fall and will start prereq classes at CC in the Spring.

I need all of the science prereqs. Aside from that, I’m not too sure where to begin. Does anyone have any advice on how to approach this?

Thanks

-jay

You’re going to get better advice from smarter people than me. But I will share what I read for inspiration from time to time:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Carmona

Hi Jay,

Welcome to OPM! I’m about the same age – 29 in late September. I’m also in a similar boat – starting my science pre-reqs in the fall (rather than the spring).

My first comment, based on what you have said: Taking your pre-reqs at a community college is not ideal. ADCOMS often view CC courses as less rigorous than those taken at a 4-year university. That said, I’m not saying to change your course, necessarily. If you plan to take some of your pre-req courses at a CC, make sure you do some upper-division coursework at a 4-year university. (Biochem, Microbio, etc.) I think you’ll find many OPM’ers will say this.

Beyond that … yes, there is plenty more to be done! Here are some suggestions:

• Volunteer. Med school admissions committees want to see that you care about people.

• Get clinical experience. (You can kill two birds with one stone and get clinical volunteer experience, of course.)

• Get to know your professors. You will need stellar LORs (letters of recommendation) for your med school application.

• Shadowing. Try to find some physicians whom you can follow around for a day, or for a few days. Learn as much as you can, try to find what interests you.