Let's be Realistic

I’m experiencing some anxiety. I just started my first pre-med course (cell biology). It’s going fine, like my instructor a lot, love the material. The anxiety is because, as I see it, it’s looking like it’s going to take me 3-4 years to complete all of my bio, chem and physics. I have a degree in Finance and did okay (GPA: 3.4) nothing spectacular. I’m not trying to set the world on fire by flying through this journey, but 4 years is a serious amount of time in order to be able to take the MCAT. I’m very willing to take it on, but it is weighing on me that I am maybe being selfish in that the pursuit of my dreams trumps many other things for my family.

The 4 years is not including Biochem and Genetics. I’ve taken all the math and other stuff…just need all the science.

The big challenge is that, currently, I must maintain my full-time job for an indeterminate amount of time.

My question is: Are there any classes that could managably be paired together in the same semester for a person on a 40 hour / week schedule (evening classes), or must I accept that it will just take as long as I think? I have the wonderful support of my wife, however, goals to start a family and continue our ‘life’ must also be factored.

Please, please share your experiences! Good, bad and otherwise!

I first suggest that you start slow and get into the needed habits and discipline to be a student. Then see if the load of a 40 hour week and family can mesh with 2 or 3 courses. Often the issue is simple time, especially with those pesky lab classes. Assuming workload and scheduling can be arranged then

1. Chem should be take insequence, partly for knowledge and partly cause taking a general chem and organic would be a real heavy load

2. You can take bio and chem together.

3. if you don’t need to take any math, you can take physics with anything.