Letter or Recommendations from professors interacted with 2 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am in a bit of a pickle and was wondering if anyone had the same issue and how they went about it. As we all know AMCAS required at least 3 letters of recommendation (LOR) two of which have to be professors you’ve had in the past. Well, I graduated from my university 2 years ago and have not had interactions with any of my professors since then. I reached out to one of those professors and they agreed to send the old reference letter they wrote for me 3 years ago however they said it might be detrimental to my application due to the long time that has passed since our last interaction.

However I have also been retaking Orgo Chem at my local community college, however am not close with the professor at all, as he simply knows me as my full name displayed on Zoom, which correlates with the name in the grade book. I do not feel like he would write a genuine LOR as he does not really know much about me besides the fact that I probably hold the highest grade in the class.

Hence I was wondering if I should ask my current professor for LOR or stick to the old reference from 3 years ago which was more personal and relevant. Any help would be much appreciated, thank you

1 Like

You could ask your current professor but if you’ve not built any relationship with him, it will not be a strong LOR. I wouldn’t recommend this. The idea is to go to office hours to have correspondence with them to be seen and known.

I’ve spoken to multiple schools about my situation (non-trad, DIY post-bacc, career changer) and they have told me to get LOR from people that could comment on the things their schools value (leadership, compassion, learning ability, etc). They said a work supervisor, other professor, someone from an organization you work with — any of those would be acceptable. I’ve gotten one LOR from my orgo professor and will be getting more from a physician I work with as well as my manager.