Life in Alcohol/Drug Recovery

I feel my situation is very unique so I am reaching out in all forums in order to get an idea of how to handle for personal statements, interviews, etc

Since I was a kid I wanted to be a physician. My dad was an ER doc and I would constantly beg my Mom to bring me to the hospital to see him. Up until my sophomore year of high school I would do everything I could to learn about what my Dad was doing. My parents have in no way forced me into medicine or any other path but my sophomore year I started to feel like I need to make my own identity and decided medicine wasn’t for me.

This is where my descent began into the dark world of alcohol and drug abuse. I began partying after my sophomore year at the age of 16 and went from a 4.0 student/athlete to graduating high school with a 2.1 GPA and a couple misdemeanors at the age of 18 of burglary and petty theft. I graduated 2010 and I luckily somehow got into Long Beach State and seeing this as my only escape out of my small hometown I took the chance to leave. Since my parents were helping to pay for college, rent, food, etc. freedom was in the hands of my immature 18 year old and self. I started the first semester strong with about a 3.7 GPA, but then I broke my foot (5th metatarsal Jones Fracture) and had to have surgery which is where I was introduced to pain pills. Up until that point I was only drinking and smoking marijuana, but after that first pill it was heaven. I continued this habit with mixtures of drugs and alcohol in order to mask my utterly deep loneliness and the fact that I felt so lost without purpose. I’d only beat myself up more because I felt like the world was at my fingertips, but I still couldn’t succeed or stop using/drinking. I was suffering because I was suffering, and I got even more depressed because I was depressed and couldn’t get out of it. Relationships, jobs, school, everything felt too much and I felt inadequate in every sense of the word.