Listing Experiences

I have a couple of questions about filling in the “Experience” section of the AMCAS.
Question #1
- Every Monday night for the last eight months, I have picked up a woman who was mildly disabled by an aneurysm. She is only 64 years old, but lives with her wheelchair bound mother. I take this woman shopping for groceries, out to run errands or sometimes we just hang out at a coffee shop. I happened into this arrangement, but love that I get a chance to assist these women. Now to my question. It was suggested to me that I include this type of volunteer work on my med school application, but this isn’t a formal arrangement.
Would this be an appropriate volunteer experience to include?
Question #2
- As a researcher, I have a number of published abstracts and poster presentations. I also have a few journal publications with more to come soon (hopefully). Because I find reading someone’s CV to be more boring than watching paint dry, I have considered shortening my list of publications and presentations to only one meeting. For instance, I’ve presented 4 posters at one meeting (for 4 consecutive years).
Would it be appropriate to list only one meeting under my experiences or should I list every single poster/abstract and journal publication?
Thanks,
– Rachel

Rachel, depending on how many experiences you have (you can only use 15), you certainly could use the volunteer experience with the 64 y.o. woman. It doesn’t have to be a “formal” arrangement through an agency.
As far as your pubs and poster presentations, you would condense the 4 presentations into one experience. If you have a number of publications, you would combine them as well so as to not exceed 15 experiences. Sometimes it makes sense to split them up, sometimes not.
Cheers,
Judy

Judy is of course correct on both counts.