Literature review question

I’m just starting to learn the ins and outs of research, so I know my question will appear juvenile to many of you seasoned researchers. Nevertheless, I’m trying to gather some information, so any help would be appreciated.

An MS4 suggested to me that while I’m waiting for IRB approval of my summer medical student research project, I should write a literature review to get published (he did this b/w 1st and 2nd year). I have a topic that I’m very interested in and that I already researched extensively during my final semester of undergrad (2012), but the topic is completely different from my summer project. My question is: How does this work? Do I need to find an adviser in that subject area to endorse me and my work? to look over my review? to do other necessary things of which I’m not aware? How do I know if my topic is publishable? (I’m guessing the answer to that last one is “if someone agrees to publish it,” but any other insight would be great)

‘I don’t know what I don’t know,’ so I’ll take any help I can get. Thanks!

• Switzerland Said:
I'm just starting to learn the ins and outs of research, so I know my question will appear juvenile to many of you seasoned researchers. Nevertheless, I'm trying to gather some information, so any help would be appreciated.