LLM or Upgrading? Both?

I have a difficult decision to make about the approaching academic year. I’m a lawyer. I’m five credits shy of completing a part-time LLM in Health Law, which has been a key part of my renewed interest in medicine.

When I looked into the widely varying entrance requirements for the schools in my province, I found out that one of my undergrad semesters is one credit short of a full load and won’t be considered in my GPA calculation. I have two options to repair this: i) do a second undergrad (has to be four year) and apply in the final year (the only option) or ii) do a “special year” of full-time non-degree studies and have that sub in for my “inadequate” semester.

My problem is that I work full-time. Work + the part-time degree has been totally manageable. Work + part-time degree + full-time undergrad studies + MCAT studying (already underway) sounds like a recipe for disaster. I know I need to prioritize the undergrad studies as I need a minimum 3.7, but the LLM is my “bridge” between law and medicine. If I put it on pause now, I’m worried that it will hurt my application since it also comes with research opportunities.

I’m trying to cram too much into the year, I know. It’s one of the downsides of being a “super non-trad” - I feel like I need to apply as soon as possible. Because my health law studies are really important in the grand scheme of my application, I’m very concerned about putting them on the back burner. There is a crazy part of me that thinks that I might be able to manage everything. I’m pretty sure that is a terrible idea, but…is it?

I think I’m looking for advice / insight from people who have gone back to do undergrad credits later in life and managed to balance them with other priorities. I am a very “experienced” student … grad school, law school, lots of exams under my belt, no kids. :thinking: