Long time lurker, first time poster

Hey all,

I have been reading posts and trying to decide when and what to post for about a year now. So here it goes. I am 35, with a wife and two sons, one is 9 and the other is 7 months. My wife is a dental hygienist and I was selling medical equipment up until December of last year. I have a bachelor’s degree from UF,3.28 GPA, in exercise science. I have decided to go back to school to be a pediatric surgeon. I am currently a full-time student at USF in Tampa. My courses this semester are Chm 1 & Lab, Bio 1 & Lab, and Calculus. I thought I could handle such a load but I only have a C average in those classes at this point. I think that trying to put an addition on my house at the same time is just too much.Combine that with watching the baby two days during the week, which is incredibly distracting for me personally,and I may be in over my head. I feel overwhelmed at times. Now I realize I went against better judgement of easing into classes, but the advisor in the medical school at USF told me they expect to see two consecutive semesters of 15-18 credit hours taken for students who want to enter med. school. This demonstrates to them that the student can handle a high volume of course work to prepare them for the curriculum of med. school. I am thinking I will wait until the next round of exams to see if I should withdraw from one of the classes and I would prefer to drop the calculus since it is not technically a prereq. Any suggestions? Also it looks as if my lender, a.k.a. father, is not going to be able to help me financially as he thought he would be able to do. Now what, where do I go for a personal loan of say 40-50K. I mean I don’t want to have to sell my house and live in a trailer. My wife would never forgive me. Are banks willing to lend this kind of money for someone who has not even gotten into med school yet. Finally, this is more than a dream for me, I truly believe I need to do this for a few reasons. One bein