Long Time Lurker

Hello! I have been a long time lurker of this forum and listener of the podcast. I am 28 and finishing up my bachelor’s degree in Healthcare Administration at the end of this year. I have worked in healthcare since high school, but always on the administrative side! I’m currently an office manager at a medical billing company. We have clients from all different specialties, and coding their cases has given me insight into so many different areas of medicine. I’ve been interested in the clinical side of healthcare since high school but doubted my abilities, so I never pursued it. My dad passed away last year of pancreatic cancer, and as cliche as it sounds, that was really what pushed me. He was always my cheerleader and really the one who got me to finally pursue my bachelor’s degree. Because of him, I found an inner confidence to really push myself in school and realize that I am capable.

I have been attempting to work out time to take science courses at the CA state university here in town, but with my work schedule I have been having a hard time. As a non matriculated student, I have last say so most of the Biology/Chem classes I could attend are full before I get a chance. I have been toying with the idea of asking my employer to go part time so I can attend these courses during the day. I have also been looking at post-bacc programs that I could apply for next year. This would mean moving away from home and quitting my job, as none are local. But I just wanted to introduce myself and thank everyone for the helpful topics I have discovered on the forum and podcast!

HI AlexaL,