Looking for suggestions....

Hey Folks,

I just joined this forum and must say that I have enjoyed reading through several of the topics, diaries etc. It is interesting to see that so many of us out there have considered medicine later in life.

In brief, I am a 44 year old registered licensed Architect living and working in Canada - I have a full time job with the public sector as well as a small private practice. Prior to Architecture (M.Arch 2004) I studied Science gaining a B.Sc (Biology) in 1995 and a M.Sc (Genetics) in 1999. I truly enjoy the profession of Architecture from a creative stand point and the day to day challenges of trying to do something that is indeed creative while being on time and on budget, but the pull back towards the life sciences has been very strong over the past few years. A lot of this “pull” has arrived due to family health challenges including my own. I knew I had to really start looking at this when I started subscriptions to The New England Journal of Medicine and Nature in an attempt to see what is happening out there in the Sciences and Clinical Research, since I left this world of academia.

Some of the material is coming back pretty quickly while a lot of it needs a major refresher for sure. Back in 1992 or 1993 I wrote the MCAT which I understand has changed a lot since then with the latest revamp happening in 2015. At the time I remember doing reasonably well but for whatever reason decided not to bother with applying to medical school as I was becoming more interested in the research side of science (most of my courses were in molecular biology, biochemistry and genetics).