Low Grad School GPA... Get Another Masters?

Hello everyone!

I am 23 years old and recently graduated from grad school. I graduated from undergrad in 2015 with a BA degree in Biology Pre-Med and a minor in Chem and received a 3.58 GPA. My GPA is “average” for applying students, however, I did play college football for three years. I was able to conduct research during undergrad, but it didnt lead to a publication. I was able to take part in a number of different shadowing and volunteer experiences in both the US and abroad in Ecuador (via our schools semester study abroad program for premeds), and I also held a number of jobs on campus such as a teaching assistant, research assistant and secretary. Just for the record I’m Mexican and Puerto Rican. I decided to take a few years off before medical school to improve my chances of acceptance. I’m currently studying for the MCAT and working as a scribe. I recently graduated from Columbia University in NYC with a MSc degree in Human Nutrition. The masters program was through the med school and was science heavy; but we didnt take med school classes. It also had a thesis component. I was able to conduct clinical research that led to a publication, where I’m listed a first author. I was also able to present our research at a conference in Atlanta, Georgia. During undergrad and grad school I was able to develop phenomenal relationships with my profs and thesis mentors, and they’ve told me that my letters of rec are great. Even though I was able to succeed in research while at Columbia, my grades suffered. Unfortunately, I graduated with a 2.89 GPA. I’m considering doing another grad program, either an MPH or SMP. How do medical schools evaluate grad school performance for a traditional MSc program? If I need to do another program, which option is the best? An MPH or an SMP?

Thanks!