low undergrad GPA

I am sure this topic has been discussed extensively. I do apologize for asking this.
I finished my undergrad (Electrical Engineering) in 1997 with a GPA 2.89. I am working fulltime and also have a family with one kid. I am just afraid that my low gpa will be the limiting factor in getting into med school.
I am doing very well in post-bacc courses. I have taken all the chemistry courses so far (A, A+, B, A+). So, I hope my good grades in post-bacc will help me.
I live in NC. But I was reading U of Florida’s website, and I got the feeling that med schools don’t look very positively if you have taken one or two courses a semester.
With fulltime job and family life, I just cannot take more than one course a semister. But in my humble opinion, I truly believe that I am an okay student. And I am much more interested in life science related materials than engineering… and of course I am passionate about becoming a physician.
Univ of Florida’s website suggested that 2 to 3 semesters of full load coursework would be very good for people with bad GPA in their undergrad. I just cannot imagine how I can do that. My wife doesn’t work. So, quiting job is out of question.
As you can see, I am a little depressed about the whole thing. I know I can do well in any courses I take now. But my past record keeps haunting me. And in the end, after all these hard work, I am worried that I will not gain admission somewhere.
Would appreciate any feedback/advise in this regard.
Shahab

If you live in NC, and presumably are an NC state resident, then I would guess you would want to apply to NC schools, since in general schools (particularly public, and some private ones as well) give preference to in-state residents. I would really suggest you contact the admissions department at a school that interests you and ask to make an appointment to talk to them about how you can become a competitive applicant.