Lurking

Hello, All.

I have been lurking here quite awhile (near on 4 years) and only in the last few months have decided that I need to take the plunge and start back on track to med school. My stats are that I completed a BS in Bio in 1995 with an undergrad research project being presented at the annual Cell Bio Convention. It was on cAMP in fish retina. I had a 3.19GPA overall. So, after I graduated, I went back home at the request of my mother to help with a family business. For the last 10 years I have run that family business in South Florida. I have gotten married, had a beautiful baby girl who’s now one year old. I am 39 years old and I have toyed with the idea of PA school being that it’s a shorter track, but somehow I can’t see myself being a PA. I have long wanted to be a Physician. My question that has been asked too many times here is the best way to go…either a Masters or just DIY it. The thing I would like to put a shout out about is finding a group or study buddy that is going along my same track here in South Florida. Currently, I am taking Summer I at a local college PBSC which has just gone from a CC to a state college. NOt sure if it’s still considered as a CC, or should I go to FAU? I am starting with BIO 1010 and A&P I. Maybe I need to transfer to a university…esp one that has a Med school to do a masters. Not sure. So far getting back into the swing of studying and learning. I deal with FUD like so many of you talk about. It seems that sometimes I am so emotional about how much I want to succeed I get in my own way when I sit down to study. I want to get all the details right instead of focusing on getting the framework first. Any input on this would be great. My husband is totally on board with this decision, so it makes it easier to face the climb. I have read the diaries on here and am inspired by so many of your stories. I would like to add my story to the group. So, hello, everyone and I am glad to finally be able to post and be apart of