Maryland this fall

I’m 31 and will be starting at Maryland in just a few weeks. I decided when I was about 26 that I wanted to go into medicine but was fulfilling my committment to the Army for providing my college education (I graduated from West Point in 1995). I went to college straight out of high school and hated it. It wasn’t the work that I hated but being in a school with over 15,000 undergrads- I felt like a number in a system (no offense to those who thrive in that type of environment). I worked in retail for a couple of years while applying to the academy. I had never taken even an elementary or hihgh school course in biology, so I never considered medicine as an option because I thought you had to be a biology major and I had no desire to spend the rest of life looking into microscopes. Then , when my friends who were pre-meds told me about their experiences, I was envious. But I figured that I had chosen my path as a math major and future Army officer and would be happy. After graduation I discovered that I could actually go into medicine with just the pre-reqs. I tried to take the courses I needed at a local college in Georgia where I was stationed but was deployed too much. That set me on the path to Towson University where I completed my pre-reqs as a part of their post-bac program. I was accepted to “bigger name” programs, but Towson was less expensive and gave me the flexibility to take other courses since I already had some of the pre-reqs. And by no means do I feel that this hurt me in the application process. While back in school, I volunteered (and now work at) the Shock Trauma Center at the University of Maryland. Fortunately, I have a wonder husband who supports my dream 110%.