math courses

I am just getting started and trying to figure out what will be my first courses. My question is regarding math courses. Math/Physics were my weak point in undergrad. If only for my mental health, I think that I'd to take a few slower-paced math courses (college algebra/precalc) prior to attempting higher level-calculus. It will slow me down, but I really feel I need a good review/base before I move full speed ahead with prereqs. I plan to take them at the local community college to save some $$. Does anyone see a down side to this or have any other ideas about a good math review?
thanks,
Cristin

Downside to math review- or math review at a community college? A math review sounds ideal and I think taking math review at CC is fine- No issue there.
I think a good math review could be helpful if you’re a little out of practice. One of my high school chem teachers explained to me that chemistry was just algebra. He was more or less right, so a review of algebra really couldn’t hurt you with your chem pre-req and would be essential for physics. I don’t know what your plan is- some med schools require calc, some don’t. I know a few people who’ve gotten in without taking any calculus. As I’m sure you know, the physics requirement is non-calculus based, so it is possible to skip out of calc all together (I’m not necessarily recommending it, just making an observation). A good knowledge of precal would be essential in a physics course. Sounds like you’ve got a good plan.
You never know, you might be pleasantly surprised when you return to math classes- perhaps you’ve become a math person over the years! (happened to me in graduate school)
Happy Calculating! biggrin.gif

Thanks!
Those were my thoughts exactly—I really wanted to a good review of algebra before chem/physics. It seems like a good way to ease into the whole process. Maybe your right and will discover new math abilities! That sure would be a nice start…
Cristin