MCAT Essay part

I’m pretty nervous about the MCAT essay part. Although I graduated from a foreign university nine years ago, I am able to speak English well. I spent more than half of my life here in the US. (I came here when I was ten.) A few years ago, I took the CLEP for English 1 and 2, and passed. I only did this so I can get credits and save some time and money. Since I haven’t taken any English classes in this country, I am a little worried that this might affect my ability to write the essays…especially if it’s timed.

So I am wondering if I should re-take some English classes. Or should I just practice writing essays and have someone or myself proofread it? Any tips or advice?

Thanks!!!

1 Like

Since you Clep’d out of the basic English classes that you need, I don’t see a need to retake those classes; however, some universities have advanced composition classes which may be of help to you.

Personally what I would suggest is that you look at some of the sample MCATs and do one of their essays following their directions. Once completed, see if you can have someone view it to see if you pretty much followed the directions required. Maybe you have someone that can read it over for you?

Even though it isn’t weighed as heavy as the other three sections, you do want to strive for at least an average grade which is, I believe, a “P” or a “Q”.

Thanks Kriss! That’s great advice!

Opal,

The essay doesn’t have to be written in Shakesperean English! All they want from you is to follow the direction, and to write clearly.

I do remeber from my Kaplan class, that some essays that we discussed, got the highest score, although they were written in a very simple language, used very unsophisticated vocabulary, and weren’t necessary very well thought through.

Again - as long as you follow the format they ask for, and don’t make to many typos and/or grammar mistakes, you should be fine.

Kasia