MCAT Without Several Prerequisites

Hello!

Looking for advice. I’ve decided to follow my heart and pursue medicine after 9 years of service in the Navy. I’m a submarine officer and have just over a year left on active duty. I’m missing Biology, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry right now, and with frequent time at sea (including a pending 7 month deployment) I will be unable to take any classes this year.

I really want to keep my transition period to no longer than a year, so I am considering taking the MCAT next summer and applying to medical school next fall. I would then complete all prerequisites over the gap year.

1. Has anyone taken the MCAT without having taken all prerequisite classes?

2. Any experience getting accepted contingent on completing prerequisite classes?

I might be underestimating the difficulty, but I think that I could self study the material over the next year to do well enough on the MCAT.

3. Lastly, if I were able to take a course or two next summer prior to the MCAT and medical school application, where would I get the most value added?

Thanks for any advice!

Yikes, you’re missing prereqs that cover the backbone of the MCAT… I don’t think anyone would say that you should take it before taking the classes, but I’m sure many have tried and some have succeeded. Most (all?) schools will let you apply contingent that you complete all of the prereqs prior to matriculation. Gap year is usually a year someone takes off between school and the start of medical school, meaning it’s the year during which they apply to start in upcoming fall, as opposed to applying during their senior year to start right after they graduate (applicable to work as well…). Is your intention to apply and take all of the remaining classes during the application process or to apply a year early and request deferment? I don’t know that schools will consider you if you plan on requesting a deferral prior to meeting matriculation requirements.