MD/DO vs. PhD???

Hello all!

I’ve been wrestling with some choices that have come before me recently and was wondering if you had any educated opinions that may help.

I’ve been working as a medical technologist for the past 12 years and have really enjoyed this area of the medical field. I would love to advance in my area, but it seems the only “upward” direction I can go in this profession is administrative (which I have a lot of experience in). I would rather stay in the “clinical” arena. I would rather work directly with patients and clinical work than schedules, budgets, and personnel issues. I hope this makes sense…

Anyway, I was just recently given the opportunity to go into the academic setting and teach at a university. One of the perks of this position is that they would fund a Master’s degree, and subsequent PhD. This is quite enticing, in that I would be paid a regular salary and be funded for the education, rather than going into a lot of debt for med school. In return, I would be expected to dedicate a year of teaching (with full pay and benefits) for every year of education they sponsor.

I love the academic setting, especially since I would be keeping my mind in the clinical sciences. I also enjoy working with students, and am excited about the research opportunities that a university environment offers.

I was just wondering, can PhD scientists also work alongside MD’s and DO’s in patient care? I would be given freedom to direct my PhD education in a number of areas relevant to laboratory sciences (ie. microbiology, epidemiology, pathology, histology, hematology, hemostasis, urology, chemistry, etc).

I guess what I need to know is: is a PhD Hematologist equal to an MD/DO Hematologist? Or PhD Pathologist equal to an MD/DO Pathologist, you get the idea…