MD or PA?

Hi! My name is Kimberly. I am 32 and starting my freshman year of college. I have been working for the airlines for the past 11 years as a flight attendant. I have decided to be completely unreasonable (my meaning of unreasonable is: going beyond ones reasons)and pursuing my dream of being a MD.

I was talking to University of Washington Assist. Professor and she was saying that PA (Physicians Assistant) is the way to go. Pay is good, schooling less intense and shorter, time spent with patients is greater, and insurance less. Speaking to another flight attendant who is going the same direction as I am, she said that she is not able to get into the PA program due to the fact she is lacking 2,000 hours of time in the medical field.

Anyone running into this? Heard of this? Way around this? In my opinion what’s the point of waiting 2 years, being a medic when one could be going to Medical School? I would really like to know what the general consensus is on PA…

Thanks and I love this site, btw.

It may be hard to do with your schedule, but see if you can volunteer for or shadow both a physician and a PA. It will give you a better idea of what they do. If you truly want to be a doctor, you should go for it. Don’t “settle” and regret it later.

Just my two cents.

Kimberly,

The UW Medex program is one of the most competitive and hardest to get into. Most people accepted into the UW program have well in excess of the 2000 hours, many have 5-10 years as paramedics, respiratory therapists, etc. If you do decide that the PA route is the best for you, there are many other programs that would be easier to get into. That said, I think futureboy is right that some time spent shadowing might be a great idea to help you decide which path fits best with your goals. It is true that becoming a PA takes less time, but if you truly want to be a physician and are committed to that, then being a PA might always leave you wanting more.