MD vs. DO based on MCAT scores

Hi there!

Wondering if anyone can provide any advice. I just took the MCAT back in July along with a Kaplan course and received my scores a couple days ago. They aren’t nearly as high as I’d hoped. I got a 22O composite (9 BS, 8 PS, 5 VR). I’m really not happy with my VR score at all, but wonder if I should apply anyway, cuz everything else is pretty decent?

I will definitely be applying to DO programs, since I hear they don’t look at test scores as much. However, are there any MD programs that would even consider that score? My GPA is very good, I believe I have a 3.7-8 composite, and a 3.9 science. I also have a year of clinical experience working in a hospital. I am also a musician on the side.

Anyone have any advice? I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you!

Melissa

Hiya Melissa–

Here are some very current figures relevant to your question… shows the median grades, science grades and MCAT (multiply x3 to get total scores) for all American allopathic schools-- entering 2008-09 freshmen.

http://www.washington.edu/uaa/gateway/advising/ dow…

It’s my understanding that most schools, both MD and DO, like to see a minimum score of at least “7” in each category.

I also wouldn’t say that DO schools don’t look at MCAT scores as much. I think they consider the entire application package moe equally rather than more heavily weighing one part of it.

Melissa,

I really feel you. I know I have a very strong application in spite of my mCAT scores…However, I spoke with one of the admission deans and he says that they have had admitted scores as low as 18.

You can look at the specific stats of the school you are interested in on their website. Then, go speak to them and see what they have to say…

Good luck…

• Jobusch Said:
Melissa,

I really feel you. I know I have a very strong application in spite of my mCAT scores....However, I spoke with one of the admission deans and he says that they have had admitted scores as low as 18.