Med School? after a PhD

Hey guys,

I wonder, and am hoping, that I might be able to interact on this site with someone, maybe more than one, who’s been in my kinda situation.

I graduated in 2003 with my PhD in Neurobiology, since then I’ve been a post doc at a number of high profile research universities both overseas (in the UK) and where I am now in the US. I’ve reached the point facing many post docs where it seems like I’m never going to get an academic full time job, but to be honest I’m not sure I want one. I may even have not worked as hard as I could have done whilst a post doc because of this indecision. I’m 35 next year and I’m thinking of applying to medical school.

There I said it. It feels like a statement similar to what you see people in movies say when they go to an AA meeting. “Hello my name is XXX and I’m an alcoholic”. The reason…and its more of a general feeling, malaise, than a concrete “i want to earn more money”, “I don’t like the uncertainty of fighting for grants associated with an academic research career”…that I am thinking about it is that I want to have impact. I’ve always felt that the research I do has no bearing on what actually happens to people suffering from some of the illnesses that my research in a kinda peripheral way touches on.

Will my work on the basic mechanims involved in the degeneration of nerve cells in Alzheimers disease actually make any difference? I don’t really see that it will. I’m curious about learning more about the medical sciences, that’s certainly part of my motivation. But I think it’s the thought that as a medical doctor I may be able to work directly with patients, whilst maybe also doing some research if I got a job at a research intensive university hospital further down the road.

Anyone here with a similar story? Am I mad? Is it just crazy to be thinking about med school now? And what are my chances of getting accepted anywhere? Do I have to take pre-med classes even?