Med School after PhD

Hello everyone,
I’m new to this board and appreciate all I’ve learned from you already.
I am seriously considering applying to medical school 10+ years since college graduation. I was an immature failure in college as a chemistry major (2.9GPA) due to excess partying, socializing. I had thought about med school but never seriously during school. After a year off trying to straighten out my life I got into graduate school an 5 years later received my PhD in biochemistry. I worked as a post-doc for 2 1/2 years at Johns Hopkins Medical School, and currently at Washington University Medical School in St. Louis. I have published several significant publications in major journals. Having worked with MDs and been around top institutions, I’ve realized that that is what I want to do…
I have dusted off the old notes and books in preparation for taking the MCAT in April. My question to anyone is…does my poor GPA in undergrad completely rule out my chances? Do I need to retake a couple of the classes I screwed up in (P-chem!) to boost that GPA? My GPA in grad school, for it’s small worth, was 3.9…though grad school gpas in science are not very relevant…only a few classes taken. My thought was to see if I do well on the MCAT to determine if I apply.
I appreciate any thoughts! Thanks!

Proteo,
Welcome to OPM! You’re not the first Ph.D. to grace our memebership roles. One other comes to mind who was tenured faculty at Univ of GA in the MicroBio Dept. Due to family considerations, he’s now actually in PA school & loving it!