Medical School Prerequisites

Hello everyone:

I am a film and TV composer, that majored in music in college. I have always had a passion for medicine, as I come from a long line of physicians. At 33, I’m seriously considering pursuing medicine, and I want to know if I can take the basic medical school prerequisites at a community college. What I mean is: would those courses be acceptable? I’m not sure how I could take the courses at a university, without enrolling in another degree program, which I don’t feel I have the time for at my age. Most of the schools seem to agree on the following minimum courses:

1 year of Chemistry

1 year of Organic Chemistry

1 year ( semesters) or 3 semesters of Biology

1 Year of Physics

As a music major, I really only studied liberal arts in college, and dabbled in the sciences through geology and ecology courses. I did well in science courses in high school, and I am wondering what the shortest path to meeting the medical school requirements would be for someone in my position. The doctors in my family are all deceased, so I could really use some good advice here. Is there anyone else out there with a similar situation?

Hi! Welcome

I am 33 as well - finishing undergrad and also completing the pre reqs. The general advice is not to take the pre-reqs at community college, that most schools appreciate the work done at a 4-yr, because it’s seen as being more rigorous. That said, there’s been plenty of people who have taken their pre-reqs at CC and have got in to med school just fine. The best thing to do is call the schools that you’re interested in applying to, and find out how they feel about CC coursework. Hope this helps a bit. There’s actually a ton of info/replies on this subject in these forums, you should try and search through the achieves.