Medical school - taking the dive

Hi everyone,

I ran into this website/forum by random chance but am excited to see how great of a resource it is!

I graduated from Virginia Tech as a finance major in December 2006 and have taken almost a year off now, trying to hit it big as a professional poker player. Although I’ve made a decent income, I do not see myself doing this as a career. I can either go get a job as financial analyst working for a corporate machine or pursue a career in medicine and target that coveted MD.

I’m leaning towards going for the MD as I’ve always fantasized of being a doctor but thought it was just way too much work and suffering. But with the right motivation, I know I can do it. A couple of roadblocks exist for me though:

1. As a finance major, I had taken very little science courses - General Biology w/ no lab and Intro to Chemistry (which I don’t think even counts as General Chemistry). I know postbaccalaureate programs with a medical school emphasis exist but none of the schools in my area (I live in Nashville, TN) have them. I think I’ll have to attend a local university and manually plan out a course cirriculum to fulfill medical school admissions requirements. I’m trying to get enrolled by this January. Do I apply as non-degree student when I do this?

2. I’m still young and dumb. My biggest fear is that I’ll actually get into medical school and in the middle of it, realize that this isn’t for me. That would just be a huge waste of time and LIFE! Those of you who are MDs already or are almost there and loving it, how did you guys know that being a doctor was what you wanted? Is there some sort of personality test that can help? I’ve been volunteering at Vanderbilt Hospital for about 4 months now but can’t really say that’s helped too much as my duties consist of refilling the coffee and soft drinks. They might let me observe a surgery or two in the near future. Hopefully this will help.