Medschool now or later?

Hello all,

I want to become a doctor, I know this, but I also have many other passions. I am still an undergrad. I started in nutrition, but recently switched to Spanish and absolutley love it. I do well in school, I have taken most of the pre-reqs for medschool and done great. I am torn though between graduating from undergrad and applying to medschool right away vs. waiting a few years to pursue other interests. Any advice? I’m 23 and I have always lived by the philosophy “make the most of this one life we have.” Is is plausible to go in the direction of my other interests and then come back to medicine? I hope so! Any advice would be wonderful…I lose way too much sleep thinking about this.

-Lisa

Well, it is hard sometimes to know what is best. I think that looking into the different careers that result in pursuing certain degrees can help. Look and see what catches your attention. It might be good to figure out your priorities.

I must say that it might be difficult to get motivated to apply to medical school later in life. If you have the energy and the grades for it, I think that you should go for it now. You could always find a field within medicine that could utilize your Spanish and Nutrition interests later.

Good Luck!!

What if you take a year or two to do something else and then see? Then you can still be fresh enough to take the MCAT if you’d like and you won’t have to re-take your pre-reqs. It might be enough time to try something you’re interested in, but it’s no time at all from my perspective at age 44.