Moving to Texas?

I am a Virginia resident with average stats (3.7, 511). I started pre-med requirements 2 years after getting a degree in Econ after enjoying volunteering as an EMT. I plan on taking a gap year when I finish classes next Spring to ensure I’m fully prepared for the application process. During this time I plan on working as a scribe and/or doing research.

Since I’ll be working for a year before applying, I’ve began to consider establishing residency in a better state for a med school applicant. Texas, in particular, stands out to me due to their lower tuition and number of students with average stats that are admitted. My brother lives in Texas, and I could stay with him while looking for work but other than that I have no ties to the region. I have visited Houston, Dallas and Austin several times each and could see myself living/practicing there, but it is far from most of my family.

I’d like to hear other people’s thoughts on the matter. My concern would be that I move there, admissions committees see that I don’t have ties to the state which raises a red flag, and I don’t get in. But at the same time, I’ve heard from people applying to schools in my state (VCU, EVMS) which make me believe that it’d be just as much of a toss up if I don’t get in anywhere in-state here so I don’t know what to do.

I’ll apply broadly (to MD and DO) regardless but I want to put myself in the best position for tuition and admittance purposes if I can. Thanks for your help.