MPH or more upper level classes

Hi Everyone,

Im new to this forum and I have been browsing the forum for some time and I finally decided to ask for some advice.

Im 36 yrs old. I have over 14 years experience in the anti violence sector( domestic violence, sexual violence etc…)I Did most of my prereqs 10 yrs ago. I was told by most schools they would need a current indicator so I took both gen chem’s, and physiology, microbiology and parasitology. My post bac GPA is 3.75.

My question is, I graduated with a very very low gpa. 2.4 science GPA. In the past year and a half I brought it up to a 2.7. It is almost impossible to get ones GPA up after such a big crash as mine. I basically did not drop my classes one whole semester.

So, most schools I talked to said, I should stop taking classes and study my ass off for the MCATs.

However, I have also been accepted to an MPH program.

So, Should I still take another year of science classes and still not get a 3.0 but 2.9 max if I get straight A’s or should I do the MPH and start a whole new GPA then apply to medical schools. In addition to study my butt off for the MCAT?

Khanoom-

I think you should listen to what the schools have told you. Doing the MPH is probably not going to help you that much in getting into medical school. The classes are a lot of statistics, epidemiology, that kind of thing, not hard science. So, it won’t give the medical schools any indicator of your ability to succeed in medical schools. Med schools also don’t seem to put as much weight on graduate GPAs as undergrad science GPAs.Plus, many schools offer combined MD/MPH programs (you often apply to them after being accepted into medical school). If you are really interested in the MPH, that may be the better way to do it.