Multiple Choice Tests

Hello, everyone,

I’m asking for any advice people have to offer on how to excel on Multiple Choice Tests. I’m currently in a biomedical sciences program in Philadelphia. I majored in Psychology in college and took pre-med classes. I have my master’s degree in the Medical Humanities. I’ve applied to med schools, but after not getting accepted, I decided to do this biomedical sciences program. My biggest challenge, and surprise, has been the multiple choice tests which I never liked. I went to a liberal arts college where we rarely ever had MC tests. Now, every single grade depends on those MC tests—biochemistry, neuroscience, histology, physiology, immunology, anatomy. What suggestions do members of the community have for studying for and excelling in MC tests for someone who excelled on the short-answer and essay tests I’ve always had?

Thanks!

jen

Well, to be honest, I believe that the best way to handle MC tests in general is to know the answer before you see the choices available. Usually you will find that their are two answers that closely match, but one will be more right than the either.

However, for the MCAT and some other types of MC tests, it is important to use critical thinking…they want to see how you will apply the information given to find the best answer.

Krisss17

Hi Jen.

I don’t consider myself an expert on mc tests either but I’ve taken my share of both mc choice type tests and q&a tests as well, and here are some thoughts of mine on the subject:

1. Try and determine the answer before looking at the options you have… many people I know try and use the options the tests provide and work backwards to arrive at which is the correct one, I feel this is counterproductive. If you studied the matieral, know which principal, equation, concept etc to apply then use it to find the answer.