Musician thinking about medicine

Hello. I’m currently a senior undergrad music major (Music Theory) trying to figure out what I want to do with my life professionally. I’ve known for about six months now that I don’t want to continue graduate studies in music or have a music-related career, and I had been considering getting into nonprofit or ESL work, but lately I’ve developed something of an interest in medicine/anatomy, so I’m juggling that around in my head as well.

Essentially, the practical aspect of my situation is that I will graduate in 2009 with a degree in music and no premedical coursework (I will have a fairly high GPA, though, 3.8-3.9-ish). Furthermore, I will be working with the Peace Corps for two years after I graduate (I’ll be 24 when I finish that). I’m not wealthy and after I graduate I’ll be financially independent. My question is: is it feasible for someone in my situation to pursue the MD track? How expensive would it be to take all the premed coursework necessary for med school acceptance?

Thanks for your help. This interest in medicine is something that has really only cropped up in the past few months, largely due to a health course I’m taking now, so it may just be a phase, but I’ve always been interested in (and good at) science and math. Whatever the case, I’ll have two years in the Peace Corps to feel it out.

In terms of time, it is very feasible for you to pursue your interest in medicine. You are still quite young and would have many years of practice ahead of you if you started the premed coursework at 24.