My Introduction and Story-from Business to Medicine

Hi, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Miller and I’m currently in Dallas, TX where I work as an IT project manager in the banking industry. I’m 26 yrs. old and have a Bachelors in Business Marketing (3.39 gpa) as well as an MBA in Information Security (3.85 gpa). I’ve been in sales most of my professional career but recently moved into an analyst/project management role. I honestly am great with people and find my current role lacking interraction with others as I am in a cubicle all day on the phone and online in meetings and hardly see anyone all day. My true passion was to study medicine but gave up quickly in my undergraduate career due to some advice from an advisor- You’ll never make it with those grades! So I’ve only taken zoology and human anatomy. I plan on starting the pre-requisites this summer by taking Gen. Chemistry I and II for starters, and I plan on taking these at a local community college during the evening as I work full-time. I appreciate any and all advice from you all and wish you the best of luck in your ventures as I begin the journey of my own. I am very passionate about this and enjoy volunteering in the community and plan to begin hospital volunteering as soon as my application goes through.

If I got paid a dollar for everytime I heard a counselor give piss-poor advice, I think I’d be able to pay for med school in cash.